Bulletin d’avalanche – 14 février 2020

Avalanche Bulletin - 2020-02-14

Expected winds for Friday will continue to build up wind slabs in the alpine and at treeline.
Areas concerned: Mont Albert, mont Hog’s Back, Champs-de-Mars, mont Lyall, mont Vallières-de-Saint-Réal, mont Blanche-Lamontagne et Mines-Madeleine
Issued on: 2020-02-14 @ 00:00
Valid until: 2020-02-14 @ 17:30
Danger ratings Friday Saturday Sunday
Alpine Moderate Moderate Moderate
Treeline Low Low Low
Below treeline Low Low Low

Avalanche problem #1 : Wind slab

Wind slabs were developed with light snow (10 cm) received this week and strong westerly of the last few days. These slabs (10-30 cm) will continue to build up on E-SE-S alpine and treeline slopes with expected strong N-NW winds for Friday. Accidental human triggers by skiers or snowboarders are possible in the alpine, especially on steep and convex slopes such as Mont Albert. Be aware of instability signs such as shooting cracks as you transition into recent wind affected terrain.

Avalanche activity

No new avalanche was observed nor reported for the last 24 hours. Thanks for sharing your observations at info@avalanchequebec.ca, on the Avalanche Canada’s Mountain Information Network or with this online form.

Snowpack

In the alpine and at treeline, the light snow (10cm) fallen over the week has been transported by Westerly winds. In protected areas, the snow is still powdery but winds slabs (10-30 cm) have been formed at the top of E-SE-S alpine slopes as well as on cross-loaded areas at treeline. These slabs lay on hard wind slabs (20 cm +) covering the January 26 crust. Below treeline, up to 35 cm of snow now covers the January 26 crust. The snow depth on the ground varies from 80 to 230 cm in general.

Weather forecast

Thursday night: Snow showers (2 cm), winds at ridgetop 40 km/h from the NW, alpine temperature of -23C.

Friday: Mainly sunny, winds at ridgetop 50 km/h from the N-NW, alpine temperature in the alpine of -23C.

Saturday: Mix of sun and clouds, winds at ridgetop 50 km/h from W, temperature in the alpine of -12C.

Sunday: Snow (2-4 cm), winds at ridgetop 40 km/h from SW, temperature in the alpine of -9C.

Message

Book immediately your weekend of February 28-29-March 1st for the 2020 edition of Avalanche Awareness Days in the Chic-Chocs. Pub quiz, ski equipment demo, avalanche course, guided ski tour and much more! www.avalanchequebec.ca/jsa2020

Snow report

Centre de découverte et de services - Mis à jour le 13 février 2020 à 09:00

24 h 48 h 7 jours Saison Au sol
4 cm 10 cm 32 cm 271 cm 82 cm
Disclaimer This avalanche bulletin is prepared with the most recent weather, snowpack and avalanche activity data available for the Chic-Chocs. It is strictly information that can be used as a part of a decision making process and is not intended to be a replacement for knowledge about avalanche safety including and not limited to safe travel practices and the use of backcountry rescue equipment such as beacon, shovel and probe.

Prepared by : J. LeBlanc

Printer-friendly version Version française
WP Feedback

Dive straight into the feedback!
Login below and you can start commenting using your own user instantly

Retour haut de page

Bulletin d’avalanche – 14 février 2020

Bulletin d'avalanche - 2020-02-14

Les vents attendus pour vendredi poursuivront le développement des plaques à vent dans l’alpin et à la limite forestière.
Zones concernées : Mont Albert, mont Hog’s Back, Champs-de-Mars, mont Lyall, mont Vallières-de-Saint-Réal, mont Blanche-Lamontagne et Mines-Madeleine
Diffusé le : 2020-02-14 @ 00:00
Valide jusqu'au : 2020-02-14 @ 17:30
Indices de risque Vendredi Samedi Dimanche
Alpin Modéré Modéré Modéré
Limite forestière Faible Faible Faible
Sous la limite forestière Faible Faible Faible

Problème d'avalanche #1 : Plaque à vent

Des plaques à vent se sont formées avec les 10 cm de neige légère reçues depuis le début de la semaine et les vents forts du secteur Ouest des derniers jours. Ces plaques (10-30 cm) poursuivront leur développement sur les versants E-SE-S des pentes alpines et de la limite forestière avec les vents forts du secteur Nord et Nord-Ouest attendus vendredi. Le déclenchement accidentel de ces plaques par des skieurs ou planchistes pourrait être possible dans l’alpin, principalement sur des pentes raides et convexes comme au Mont Albert. Surveillez attentivement les signes d’instabilité tels que les fissures sous les skis lorsque vous entrez en terrain affecté par les récents vents.

Activité d'avalanche

Aucune nouvelle avalanche n’a été observée ni rapportée depuis 24h. Merci de partager vos observations à info@avalanchequebec.ca ou avec le Mountain Information Network d’Avalanche Canada ou avec ce formulaire en ligne.

Manteau neigeux

Dans l’alpin et à la limite forestière, la neige (10cm) légère tombée cette semaine s’est fait transportée par les vents du secteur Ouest. Aux endroits protégés des vents, la neige demeure poudreuse alors que des plaques à vent (10-30 cm) se sont formées dans le haut des pentes alpines E-SE-S et dans les zones de chargement latéral à la limite forestière. Ces plaques reposent sur d’autres vieilles plaques plus dures (20 cm +) qui recouvrent la croûte du 26 janvier. Sous la limite forestière, jusqu’à 35 cm de neige recouvre maintenant la croûte du 26 janvier. La hauteur de neige au sol varie de 85 à 230 cm en général.

Prévision météo alpine

Jeudi soir : Averses de neige (2 cm), vents sur les sommets de 40 km/h du NO, température dans l’alpin de -23C.

Vendredi: Généralement ensoleillé, vents sur les sommets de 50 km/h du N-NO, température dans l’alpin de -23C.

Samedi : Alternance soleil et nuages, vents sur les sommets de 50km/h de l’O, température dans l’alpin de -12C.

Dimanche : Averse de neige (2-4 cm), vents sur les sommets 40 km/h du SO, température dans l’alpin de -9C.

Pour plus de détails, consultez notre aperçu météo des Chic-Chocs.

Message

Réservez tout de suite votre weekend du 28-29 février-1e mars pour l’édition 2020 des Journées de Sensibilisation aux Avalanches qui se dérouleront aux Chic-Chocs. Pub quiz, prêt d’équipements de ski, cours d’avalanche, sortie accompagnée en montagne et encore plus ! https://avalanchequebec.ca/jsa2020/

Rapport de neige

Centre de découverte et de services - Mis à jour le 13 février 2020 à 09:00

24 h 48 h 7 jours Saison Au sol
4 cm 10 cm 32 cm 271 cm 82 cm
Limite de responsabilité Ce bulletin d’avalanche est préparé à partir des plus récentes données disponibles concernant la météo, la neige et les avalanches pour les Chic-Chocs. Il est essentiellement un outil d’information et d’aide à la décision en arrière-pays qui ne doit en aucun cas remplacer des connaissances de sécurité en terrain avalancheux et l’utilisation du matériel de sauvetage à savoir un DVA, une pelle et une sonde.

Préparé par : J. LeBlanc

Version imprimable English version
WP Feedback

Dive straight into the feedback!
Login below and you can start commenting using your own user instantly

Retour haut de page